Ostküste 2016

Situated in the lush green hills of Co. Wicklow, the surroundings for the Ostküste show are almost as remote as they are beautiful.

Billed as an “Oldschool VW Show”, Ostküste allowed entry for models in production up to 1995. For anyone that knows me that’ll be right up my street with my love of 80s and 90s cars.

Nigel and I arrived fresh from the two hour run in the Cabriogay and parked up for a chat with some old and new faces. Next thing we were handed a sheet with mileage markers, directions and cryptic clues to answer on a 20 mile road run about the local area. As competitive as we both are there were some answers we couldn’t get so these may or may not have been filled in with some rude answers…

Childishness aside it was up there with one of the coolest show experiences I’ve had and very cool to see something different at a show when it feels like all options have been exhausted.

Midway through the show ireland were playing and literally everyone packed into the pub across the road. I don’t think I’ve ever seen that at a show either! After the football everyone headed back to end the day with the raffle and prize giving.

While I’ll admit I was slightly tipsy heading back up the road as Nigel’s passenger I really enjoyed the show. 
And no, I can’t pronounce the name of the show drunk or sober!

See the rest of the pictures here

Connor

This entry was posted in General. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

